Clear all

/5 large tank on a /6?

10 Posts
3 Users
0 Reactions
Jeff Naber
(@redbaron)
Topic starter

I am a noob and just started restoring a 1974 R90/6. I already have a checklist of items to work on before starting the bike. The original tank is shot. I have a large tank from an early /5 that does not have the extra space for the under tank front brake master cylinder (MC) for the /6. Will the /5 tank fit on my /6 if MC is removed? Can I mount the MC on handlebar like the /7? I remember hearing this can be done. Any help would be appreciated. red

Posted : 12/12/2017 12:02
James Strickland
(@8053)
Reputable Member

The /5 tank will fit on the /6, but you will have to re-locate the front brake master cylinder. There will be some considerable expense involved in that.

former Airmarshal, IL.

Posted : 12/13/2017 08:27
Jeff Naber
(@redbaron)
Topic starter

Thanks James. Can you or anyone else explain the process to do this? Although I am a noob I did own a 1974 75/6 years ago and did most of the work on it.
I never did any brake relocation work.

Posted : 12/13/2017 09:44
James Strickland
(@8053)
Reputable Member

You would need to acquire a throttle assembly hand set and master cylinder, appropriate brake line(s), and a switch for the brake light circuit. I I remember correctly, Tom Cutter or Anton Largadier can set you up with the whole package.

former Airmarshal, IL.

Posted : 12/14/2017 08:08
James Strickland
(@8053)
Reputable Member

You will need the throttle side hand set, a corresponding master cylinder, brake line(s), and the switch for the brake light. If I remember correctly, Tom Cutter or Anton Largadier can put together a package with everything you would need.

former Airmarshal, IL.

Posted : 12/14/2017 08:12
Raymond Lott
(@fxray)