FORUM

Notifications
Clear all

Replacing stock '95 GS, 32 mm Bing carbs with 40mm?

5 Posts
3 Users
0 Reactions
Ralph Hunt
(@rdhunt08gmail-com)
Topic starter

What would be the benefits / downside of doing this?

Posted : 04/17/2018 18:23
Lawrence Erkie
(@632)
Trusted Member

If I remember correctly, my R100GS had smaller valves than my R100RS (which has the larger carburettors). If you fit the 40mm units to the engine with the smaller valves, I would expect the result would be less low-end torque. Personally, I wouldn't find that to be an improvement. I always found my R100GS engine's performance to be very satisfying as it was delivered by the factory. I put 100 k miles on that machine and have suffered seller's remorse since shortly after I sold it. Big mistake that...
Disclaimer: I'm no expert, but I am experienced.

Posted : 04/18/2018 14:53
Ralph Hunt
(@rdhunt08gmail-com)
Topic starter

I want to swap the carbs on a temporary basis in an attempt to diagnose a slight stutter that I have on my 95 GS at 2800 rpms and under. I've been looking for this gremlin for years and have tried: carb kits and adjustments per Snowbum's articles, timing and valve adjustments, new plug wires & spark plugs, new coil.

I'm thinking I can eliminate the stock carbs as the problem with the temporary 40 mm carb swap.

What do you think?

Posted : 04/18/2018 15:07
Lawrence Ayotte
(@8244)
Eminent Member

I'm thinking you will find even more issues with that swap, as there is more to the 40mm system than just the carbs. If my bike had the same problem, I probably wouldn't notice, as I spend very little time under 3k rpm. There are those out there that believe that low rpm with an airhead promotes spline wear. Having said that, you obviously could have something out of wack, but many questions come to mind. You didn't say if the carbs have stock jetting, what altitude you are at, what quality of fuel you have, what the plugs look like, etc.

Posted : 04/19/2018 08:23
Ralph Hunt