12 Posts
10 Users
21 Likes
jack klauschie jr
(@jarthur)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

Member # 16475

However well intended, the votes of three people to fire the newsletter editor is wrong especially given the firing was over opinions about the future of the club. From where I sit the firing was more about power than the direction of the Club. This opinion is reinforced by the indication all BOD members support a greater internet presence. In other words, the firing cannot be justified by resistance to a greater internet presence.

A paper and web based "newsletter" are not mutually exclusive. As a newsletter editor myself I empathize with every editor who struggles to fine "printable" content. One asks for contributions from members, and one typically gets nothing. Rather than complain about content, provide your own contribution to an editor. It most likely will be welcome and well received.

The decision to hire an outside newsletter editor should be rescinded immediately. It is my opinion members should vote on something this central to the Club.

I expect the current BOD will not rescind the hiring of an outside business. So, my question is where is content for a newsletter going to come from with the new "editor," especially given it is a business and not a Club member? The BOD? If that is the case, then one or all of "The Three" should take over as editor.  There is no need for an outside business editor. If members of the BOD are going to censor content, then they should step up and become the newsletter editors themselves. Don't hide behind a business. 

I like getting a paper copy of the newsletter and am willing to pay extra.

Whether to pay extra for a paper copy is a decision to be made by each member.

There is no rule that says there cannot be a paper copy and web-based edition. If someone is willing to do the work both are desirable.