8 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Eric Morales
(@emoralesr45)
Trusted Member
Topic starter

Hello everyone,

I'm Eric and I'm new to this club. I'd like to thank John Marshall (newzhack) for sharing this group with me. So, I'd like to start by saying I apologize in advance if I ask a repeat question, or what seems as a dumb question. I'm new to bikes in general and need some guidance on maintenance. I'm in the Air Force and just moved back stateside after being overseas for 16 years. On my last assignment in Germany, I was able to pick up a pretty cool little bike. I purchased a 79 R45 with 26,000 KM's on it. I didn't argue with the price as another military guy sold it to me for $900! It was running but needed some attention. My ignorance cost me a bit, as I decided to just take it to the BMW dealership. It cost me over 800 Euros to get a full service done. I wasn't impressed, and I'm sure I got suckered:whistle: . Tuning was lousy and kept back firing.
To my surprise an old gentleman walking in my village saw me trying to get the timing, valve clearance, and back firing sorted. He had to have been in his 70's-80's, but he came up to me smiled, said hello and started helping me out. Thank goodness for Google translate. Come to find out he worked at an old motorrad in Heidelberg years ago and knew about these bikes. Got the tuning as best as possible. I gave him some English Green King Beers I had for his help and a very strong hug. Experience beat youth big time that day. Ha Ha! I hope to pick peoples brains in here and I’m looking forward to meeting other members near me in Oklahoma or maybe SoCal folks when I finally get a chance to take leave. Thanks everyone!

V/R
Eric

Posted : 08/03/2020 15:16
Brian Swanick
(@thundermotive)
Estimable Member