Clear all

1974 R75/6 Charging problems

4 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
Tom Rinicker
(@doodah)
Topic starter

Hoping that someone can help. I'm a newbie to airheads and haven't really done any wrenching in years. This bike was a garage find, had been sitting for about 10 years and was in pretty poor condition with not much working. Speedometer shows about 52000, but from the condition of the bike and the wear on it, it could be 152,000 or even 252,000. In the past 3 months I've taken it mostly apart and put it back together so now it runs and rides. All lights work and the bike starts up on the first try and generally runs well. The problem is it's not charging and there is no generator light. I have replaced the following: Battery, Rotor, stator, voltage regulator, Diode board and most of the connecting wires. I've also replaced the old instrument pod circuit film with a new Katdash led unit. I've tried to follow the published troubleshooting as best as I could and can't get the light to light at all. I've checked terminals in the instrument pod and all seem to be functioning correctly. As far as I can tell, there's not much left to replace. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Posted : 02/26/2019 18:31
Richard W
(@wobbly)

Welcome, and glad to help ! Here's 3 suggestions in order of importance....

1. One of the quirks of the BMW charging system is that the alternator will not work without a working warning lamp. When the bulb burns out, then the charging system stops working. Check the #194 bulb in the instrument cluster. This is a common bulb you can get from your LAPS. Do not fit an LED, it requires the resistance of a working incandescent bulb.