Clear all

Accidentally left petcocks on

5 Posts
3 Users
1 Likes
Luis Solares
(@elguicho)
Topic starter

Hey guys! Thank you for all the useful advice provided here.

I’m a total newbie to motorcycles and airheads in general... I did my first long ride on my 1975 R90/6 today. About fun miles.
However, once I came back home I parked the bike in the garage and left the petcocks on for about 4 hours.

I know it’s important to shut the valves off after each ride but I’m wondering if the bike is safe to ride or if I need to drain the oil and top it off.

I looked for an answer in the forum but couldn’t find one. Thanks.

Posted : 08/14/2020 22:56
Richard W
(@wobbly)

Welcome Aboard !

The reason for the fuel shut off (or "petcocks") is that the fuel tank is located ABOVE the carbs. Once is a great while, the force of the fuel (the weight and height of the fuel itself) exerts a greater pressure on the float valve than it can withstand. There may also be a small amount of trash on the valve's seat, which is assisting. When these stars align, fuel then flows into the intake, down past the inlet valve, past the rings and into the engine sump... where it dilutes the engine oil. This is all done by gravity, which having been discovered by Issac Newton in 1679, has been a fairly reliable and constant force since that time.

So, the 2 easiest ways to inspect for fuel in the sump and dilution of the engine oil are: 1) Look at the dipstick. Did the oil level magically increase ? 2) Take a big whiff with your nose down next to the open dipstick hole. Do you smell fuel ?

It's actually a fairly rare occurrence, but it is a REAL concern. When it does happen, you will be required to change your engine oil. (If you let the oil sit in an open container, there's a good chance the bad stuff may evaporate over time and the oil might be safe to use in your lawn mower. This is all based on the expense of the oil you use.)