Clear all

'76 R75/6: Points don't open

9 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Dan Schroeder
(@dschroeder)
Topic starter

I just received my grandfather's '76 r75/6 because I was tasked with getting it running again. I am new to air cooled bikes and motorcycle repair in general. I've been working on it the last couple days and finally got the starter motor to run. The starter relay doesn't work so I powered the starter motor with a jump from the battery. I wanted to see if the spark plugs would make a spark, but they didn't. The ignition coils seem to be getting power, but I discovered the points never open even when the crank is turning. Could this be why the plugs aren't sparking? If so, how do I get the points to open?

Posted : 07/30/2020 14:34
Richard W
(@wobbly)

Welcome Aboard !

Wow, you inherited a classic if there ever was one !

Yes, it is quite common for the points to stick open on bikes that have been sitting. It is also common for there to be unseen corrosion on the surface of the contacts after long storage that stops all electrical flow. The fix is VERY easy. Disconnect the battery, then remove the front cover. Remove the 10mm hex nut and the auto advance will slide straight off, and give better access to the points. Wiggle the points arm until it moves freely. Clean both contact faces with a doubled-over piece of fine emery. Oil the auto advance with motor oil and make sure it moves freely, and put it all back together.

With the spark plugs laying on the cyl heads and connected to the plug wires, you should have spark on both sides as you kick the bike over with the battery re-connected.

There's going to be 100 tiny tasks like this to do before you can ride, but it's going to be VERY rewarding when you finish. I highly suggest hauling the bike to a local Tech Day near you. (Maybe even 2 or 3 Tech Days !) That's the fastest way to learn your way around a very unique engine and motorcycle, and get the really in-depth technical help you may need.