FORUM

On its maiden voyag...

Notifications
Clear all

On its maiden voyage with the BMW R 75/7 (1978) - Five decades on two wheels (1)

24 Posts
4 Users
3 Likes
Wolf-Ingo Seidelmann
(@18749)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

Hi guys, I'm new here and trying to find my way around here. My friend Alan introduced me to this website here. My name is Wolf-Ingo, my friends are allowed to call me Ingo. I'm 73 years old and I have been a motorcyclist since 1971. I have been driving a BMW R 75/7 since 1977. How I came to BMW, I will explain to you in the following text. Because I am German and can only speak school English, there are probably a lot of errors in the text.  Please forgive me for my inadequacy!

But let's start with the report:

In the fall of 1977, I was thoroughly disappointed with the MZ brand. Although the four-speed TS had transported my wife Sigrid and me thousands of kilometres across Europe, two engine failures in four weeks were simply too much.

Below: Take-off in 1977 on the MZ TS 250 to Spain

Posted : 01/21/2024 08:17
Wolf-Ingo Seidelmann
(@18749)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

I also wanted to finally have more power, better brakes and a more comfortable seat. A four-stroke suitable for touring was needed, and soon.

My attention fell on the Bavarian boxers, which was not least due to Ilse Reuter, the editor of a fairly well-known motorcycle magazine. Its circulation-promoting image regularly graced the front page when the magazine once again published a BMW test. The editor, who shines as a cover girl, told me that the newly introduced R 100/7 has an extremely elastic engine and is therefore particularly suitable for holiday trips with a lot of luggage. Unfortunately, there was a catch: the balance of our student household. But for a BMW 750, the combined income from six weeks of holiday work at Daimler-Benz would probably have been enough.

Below: beautiful Ilse Reuter

Posted : 01/21/2024 08:19
Wolf-Ingo Seidelmann
(@18749)
Eminent Member