Clear all

Battery tender

4 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
Eric Zucker
(@tundrakrampus)
Topic starter

Any body have any luck with battery tenders designed for multiple bikes? I have 3 that are about to go into their winter slumber and figure I'd ask who is running what to keep their battery from getting the covid. Thanks in advance. TK

Posted : 10/01/2020 12:59
Richard W
(@wobbly)

IMHO, "battery tenders" are not always a good thing.

• Most tenders are made for car batteries, which due to their higher AH rating, have a much higher maintenance charge rate. For a average motorcycle battery the charge rate shouldn't be over 3/4A (750mA). For continuous "maintenance" far less than that.

• Obviously one of the big criteria for continuous maintenance is what controls the 'cutoff limits' of the charger. What are the settings (for both OFF and ON) and how is it implemented. I worked in the phone industry for a decade and learned there's quite a bit of knowledge required for maintenance charging. To start with, every brand of battery had its own prescribed voltage setting. I don't see that level of sophistication with motorcycle chargers, although there is a known difference between flooded cell batteries and AGM batteries.

• Findings from the electric car industry indicate that batteries really don't like to be "fully charged" to achieve their maximum life. So this underscores point number 2 about how the charger is controlled, and what are the limit settings.