FORUM

Brand new to Beemer...

Notifications
Clear all

Brand new to Beemerism - old everywhere else!

7 Posts
2 Users
0 Likes
Joe Dillingham
(@joe-dillingham)
Topic starter

Hello everyone. I wanted to come by and introduce myself to this part of the Airhead community. My name is Joe, and I started riding street bikes in 1974 and of the 20+ bikes I’ve owned, this is my first BMW. I’ve recently joined a few airhead online clubs because I know I will certainly need the expertise exhibited on the various Airhead forums, and as I learn the quirks and particulars of my bike, maybe I can pass on some help as you yourselves are doing here on the forum. I’ve actually wanted an airhead for about 25 years but my 20 year-old mind wouldn’t go for it, as all it wanted to do was strafe apexes on high powered corner-carving machines. Well, finally the mind conceded and the 66 year old body and mind are now talking. Long story short, I am currently attempting to get a 1977 R100RS roadworthy. It’s been sitting since 1995 and I am now slowly becoming acquainted with German engineering and the bike in general. I’m now finishing up the R&R of the steering head bearings and next on the agenda is the rebuilding of the front forks. When I first saw the bike, I didn’t give it a second glance because the fairing looked weird, being all bulbous and whatnot. After another bike I was looking at fell through, walked over and looked at the RS again. It was part of a collection and didn’t have a speck of rust on it. It is pretty original except for the seat which I will be replacing. It does have a few dings and wear marks as it wasn’t a restoration. Overall looked very sound. The owner started telling me about the 1977RS and how iconic of a bike it was, well, not being familiar with BMW’s, I took that as simply sales talk - until I did some research. Well, here I sit with Klaus in a boiling garage twisting wrenches and becoming friends. It’s good to be here and I hope to meet many of you as I b