'80 BMW R100T: Runin' Lean

12 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Michael McNight
(@blue-1)
Trusted Member
Topic starter

I'm pretty new to BMW Airhead maintenance. Purchased a 1980 BMW R100T off e-Bay a few years back and I've been restoring it ever since. Lots of time, money and research spent.

I took my bike down to Quality Cycle Service in Tonto Basin, AZ, ( http://qualitycycleservice.com ) for the last of the engine work and to make sure everything I did was correct.

I had Dave install:
* New MAC deep oil pan, ( https://shop.macperformance.com/MAC-BMW-Twins-1970-1989-Large-Oil-Sump-Pan-98101.htm ) No modification to the center stand needed.
* New Siebenrock replacement kit. New cylinders and pistons , https://www.siebenrock.com/en/engine-parts/replacement-kit/3018/replacement-kit-1000cc-99mm?c=618
* Cylinder heads rebuilt by Ted Porter's BeemerShop, ( https://www.beemershop.com/category/airhead-cylinder-head-page.html )
* New timing cover, from MaxBMW, .

Since I bought the bike off e-Bay and not being familiar with Airheads, I asked Dave to check everything out. And get it running correctly, up to speed.

Anyway, I got my bike back and the bottom exhaust manifold pipe was all blue. I asked him about it when I picked-up the bike and he said I need to change a jet in the carburetor/s.

I was exhausted driving down from Las Vegas and didn't put two & two together and ask him why didn't he didn't adjust the carburetors? After all that's what I was paying $1600 for. To get my bike running right.

So now I'm stuck with figuring out what needs to be done to get my carbs running correctly.

* My first question is, how can I tell if the lean problem is occurring at idle, or at speed? Or both?
* I understand the fuel/air mixture screw on the bottom of the carbs is for adjusting the mixture at idle. And only effects the idle mixture.
* I also understand the internal jets are for adjusting the fuel mixture at speed.