Clear all

1983 R80RT Flywheel replacement

22 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
Peter Millar
(@ptmillar)
Topic starter

I received a new to me 1983 R80RT and after driving it approx 100 miles I stopped for gas and tried to start it and it made strange metal on metal noise. I suspected the starter got chewed up but when I took everything apart the starter is fine and the flywheel is spinning loose inside the clutch housing. I am new to Airheads and have little experience wrenching but I"m enthusiastic and determined to fix this myself. A few questions I had are:

Should I buy all new clutch parts? Included in the records I received from the previous owner it says that at mileage 85897 in October 2010 the transmission output shaft was replaced and the clutch was inspected and said to have minimal wear. The bike now has 96k miles 9 years later. I have ordered a new flywheel but wasn't sure if I'd need all new clutch parts.

I have been reading and re-reading everything snowbum has ever written about clutches and flywheels. I have ordered the necessary tools from Northwoods Airheads and I was going to try to keep an active log of my first (and fairly extensive) foray into airhead wrenching. Thanks to everyone who has supplied knowledge and advice here. I'm thrilled to be a member of the club.

Thanks.
The morning I picked the bike up.
20190527_095130

Getting into it to take the starter off.
20190609_104818

Flywheel spins freely and is not connected to anything.
20190609_110223

Posted : 06/10/2019 15:58
Richard W
(@wobbly)

Ordering parts before the bike is disassembled is a good way to end up short on funds.