7 Posts
3 Users
0 Likes
13.6 K Views
John Marchant
(@15235)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

I'm a newbie here. New also to BMW Motorcycles. Not new to wrenching on bikes, having been the (sometimes) proud owner of Japanese, Italian, and British bikes for the past four decades.

My new to me R100GS has been acting up when well heated up. Idle RPM periodically goes off the deep end into the 3K range. Killing the ignition and immediately re-starting solves the problem every time. Research seems to indicate the automatic advance unit sticking a bit, so I took it apart. Note that I covered all the other bases before doing this - valve clearances, spark plugs, timing, carb idle setup - nothing solves this sometimes departure from normal idle.

The auto advance unit is in pieces and all cleaned up. My question is: what should I be using for lubricants in the re-assembly? There was lube on the shaft bearing washers (it's spread all over the inside of the canister now), or at least it was until I cleaned it up. There was another (clear-ish) lubricant on the advance weight plate. I'm inclined to use the minimum amount of lube in all of these locations and wonder if I should be looking at graphites or teflons or just plain dry under the weights. Some sort light oil should likely go into the fibre thrust washers.

Any suggestions? Preferably for products available in Canada as some that are mentioned on various websites are unobtanium.

Cheers,
March

Common sense isn't very common, any more.

Posted : 05/08/2016 21:07
John Marchant
(@15235)
Eminent Member
Topic starter

Sad to say, Lubriplate Low-Temp is not available here in British Columbia (not completely true, I did find it in 5 gal pails). Many thanks to @8166 for the suggestion.