Turn signal indicator light problem.

8 Posts
3 Users
0 Reactions
Steven Rankin
(@14724)
Estimable Member
Topic starter

On my 78 R100RS we are having a problem with the indicator light for the turn signals not lighting. The turn signals and the four way flashers work fine, just the indicator light does not work. Swaping the console with another unit and swaping the flasher relay did not change anything. Checking the voltage to the bulb socket, there is very low voltage present, 1.2 volts. All connections appear to be clean and good, as far as we can tell, the system is wired properly.
Any thoughts as to what could be going on? St.

Beware! I do not suffer fools gladly! St.

Posted : 07/13/2017 19:03
Bill Wegner
(@barefootboy)

I shall watch this with interest. My R90/6 has the same issue.

Posted : 07/14/2017 17:08
Richard W
(@wobbly)

I'm no expert, but I'm willing to take a stab.... This could be several things, depending on the full description of the issue.

► If the Hi Beam indicator and instrument back lights also refuse to work (which may not be apparent if you no longer ride at night), then the entire instrument cluster may have lost it's "ground" connection. If you look at a schematic you'll see that most of the bulbs in the instrument cluster share a common return path.

That path could be upset by a poor connection at the large rubber connector on the rear of the instrument cluster. I had to smear No-Ox on my instrument cluster connector to get all my instrument lights working. The BRN wire that supports that "ground" function goes directly into the main harness with no other connectors, so if that's not it, then you may have a broken BRN wire inside the harness leading up to the cluster. This last is highly unlikely, but Occam's razor dictates it be included.

► If all other lights work OK, then it may be an issue with the bulb/ bulb holder. (You tried another instrument cluster, but that particular bulb is ON all the time and therefore short lived.)