FORUM

Notifications
Clear all

Siebenrock 1000cc Kits and Final Drive Ratio?

7 Posts
6 Users
0 Likes
Mathieu Dubois
(@kriegmeister)
Topic starter

I'm considering installing this kit on my '71 R75/5 but I have a question about the effect it will have on the final drive gear ratio. It's been brought to my attention that going to 1000cc would impact the smoothness of the bike. Apparently, the "sweet spot" for these bikes with the normal final drive ratio lies in the domain of the 600-800cc range, and that a 1000cc configuration would lead to noticeable vibration and drastic changes in fuel economy when used with the final drive ratio of a 750 when crusing at 60-70mph. I'm not an engineer, so I'd like your thoughts on this. I'm running a 32/10 final drive mated to a 4-speed transmission. Also, I assume that running 1000cc, though it's claimed is a bolt-on set, would necessitate different jetting?

Can someone experienced with this "upgrade" provide some insight? Has the Seibenrock kit proven to be as long-lasting as the stock versions? Have you noticed a change in RPM, operating temperature, or any other symptoms which have lead you to regret the change?

The reason I'm contemplating this is because the bike I'm restoring suffers from pitting in the cylinder walls which require boring to 2nd over-size or more. Factor in the cost of machining and new pistons and it comes to about the same as the 1000cc kit. Plus, I'm having trouble finding a machine shop in my area that I trust to do the job - I live in muscle-car/lifted pick-up country, where close enough is considered good enough.

Thanks in advance,

Matt,
Winnipeg, MB

Posted : 09/07/2016 14:41
Richard W
(@wobbly)

Also consider that...
► The kit only includes pistons and cylinders. The valves and carbs will remain at the smaller size (smaller than an R100) which will inherently restrict the breathing. This is OK for regular touring, but may be too restrictive if you have in mind some type of faster sport touring.