12 Posts
4 Users
0 Likes
eric ben-kiki
(@ebkbmw)
Topic starter

Hi All
Just subscribed to Airheads

Sooo I just got my hands on a 1974 R90 BMW that's been sitting it a barn/garage for about 33 years. I'm planning on getting it running again and using it as a daily reliable rider and not turning it into some object of worship. Here's the catch...I'm kind of that DIY guy that get's into projects that I've never done but eventually figures out how to survive them and make shit work. Here's a rookie question...
1. what are the first things to do before I see if it actually runs?

ps. I've been riding on and off for about 48 years but really haven't been tearing bikes apart that much.
currently ride a R1200GS

I'll post some pics of the R90 when I can

Big thanks
eric

Posted : 07/10/2020 01:14
Scott Ambler
(@scott-ambler)
Eminent Member

Welcome Eric!I have been working on a barn find for the last year and doing it to much the same level you are talking about. My best reference is the step-by-step videos on Boxer2Valve. He did exactly what you are embarking on, and did it with an R90/6. I also got a lot of good information on Brook's Airhead Garage. Both of these sites have more videos than you can imagine. They will keep you busy for a while. Don't hesitate to let me know how I can help. My resurrection is a 1975 R75/6. Pretty much the same bike you have, with smaller jugs.

Scott

Posted : 07/10/2020 12:02
eric ben-kiki
(@ebkbmw)
Topic starter

Hey Thanks!!
Planning on flailing around here until I get up to speed a bit.
cheers.

Posted : 07/10/2020 13:59
eric ben-kiki
(@ebkbmw)
Topic starter

Awesome! Thanks so much Scott
Definitely going to be checking in on those.
And will hit you up with Q's when I start unscrewing stuff.
eric

Posted : 07/10/2020 14:02
eric ben-kiki
(@ebkbmw)
Topic starter

Just checked out the Wobbly thread...thanks so much. Lookin like I'll be getting kinda hooked on this stuff. : )

Posted : 07/10/2020 14:22
Scott Ambler
(@scott-ambler)