New member in Williamsburg, VA

10 Posts
4 Users
2 Likes
James Winkelhake
(@18500)
Topic starter

Hi everyone!

I’m new to Airheads and to the forum. About  two months ago I bought a 1980 R100T and am super excited to get her running and  on the road. 

I’m just trying to get through the first oil change but looking forward to many mor  projects. She was well cared for by the previous owner and I have much more planned!  

Just wanted to introduce myself. So far I’ve poured through the forum. What a wealth of info!

Posted : 11/11/2023 13:18
Richard W
(@wobbly)

Welcome !

Some tips to get you started...

• It would be better to simply drain and refill the engine oil until you fully understand about the "white (square section) O-ring" on the oil filter. No matter what your off-brand filter came with, using only the official white O-ring from BMW is best.

Here's the technical story: https://bmwmotorcycletech.info/Oil.htm

• We've seen a rash of broken oil by-pass springs recently. Seems like the springs have a 30 year life. When the spring breaks, all the oil by-passes the oil filter, so it's important to check. You can only check/ repair this spring when the oil filter is removed. To check, poke it with a long thin rod and see if you have about 3mm (1/8 inch) spring action on the ball itself. 

The ball lives here...

Collapsed spring on the Left; new spring on the Right
?1

• Most members are running 20W50 API rating SF/SG (such as Valvoline VR-1) in the engine.

• Your shifting will dramatically improve if you will run (the same)  synthetic gear oil in the gearbox, drive shaft AND final drive. No need to get fancy with super-expensive gear oils, regular Valvoline will do just fine. That should be changed once a year due to water build-up (not being "worn-out" oil as you do with the engine oil).

More tips here... https://www.airheads.org/community/wrenching/new-owner-primer-tips-to-get-your-airhead-back-on-the-road/