Clear all

New to Airheads

5 Posts
4 Users
1 Likes
Paul Begley
(@18357)
Topic starter

I just joined the Airheads forum.  I'm new to Airheads but considering getting a project bike to work on (probably a year or so out from starting that project).  An Airhead seems like a great way to go.  Planning to learn as much as possible before I take the plunge. Not planning on a full restore but hoping to bring a worthy bike back to good operating condition.

I live in Baltimore and I've been riding for 40+ years.  I have reasonable mechanical skills and do my own work on my bikes.

Thanks

Paul

Posted : 01/24/2023 09:28
Mark Bartels reacted
Robert Whigham
(@1872)
Estimable Member

Welcome. Airheads being "Simple by choice" make a good project. Parts are available and there is a lot of informatioñ on line. Check on local tech days-attend, watch and learn. Also they are a good social activity.

. Bob

Posted : 01/25/2023 05:31
Richard W
(@wobbly)

Welcome from Georgia. You're very smart. After wasting time riding pretty much everything else, I re-discovered Airheads too late in my career to really, really enjoy them. I should have bought one of these bikes much earlier in my riding career. 

Airheads are designed to be owner maintained. You'll find a machine that was decades ahead of its time for reliability and ease of service. And one that's a shear delight to put endless miles on. After a lifetime of 35 mile rides, once I got an Airhead my typical "daily ride" was somewhere around 300+ miles. Everything about them is shear joy. (That being the case, you might want to start looking for property out in the hinterlands as your riding base. 'Joy rides' that start every time with an hour-long expressway ride simply to get to the enjoyable part can get very old.)